What does a Rabbit have to do with Easter?

Standard

rabbitWell…. I really have no idea why they try to sell us on THE RABBIT THING during Easter. Rabbits don’t lay eggs, neither do baby chicks, so why do we associate them with Easter? It may have some early pagan significance. Easter comes during the Spring Solstice, and during earlier times, I think there was a lot of dancing and naked people around bonfires shouting at the moon. Perhaps they had rabbit stew afterward. (I don’t eat rabbit because the critters are too cute.) That’s my only rule. Don’t eat the meat of cute animals… I sound retarded, don’t I? Guilty as charged.

Easter is when Christians celebrate the resurrection of the Lord and that should involve a feast. Everyone loves a good banquet so that’s understandable.  Mom used to cook a ham. Now I don’t eat ham. (Pigs are way too cute.) I digress. It is a Christian celebration, so  with time, like Christmas, the whole Holiday has become rather commercial…hence, we have baby chicks (too cute to eat) rabbits (also too cute) and peeps. If you don’t know “peeps”, they are a sugary yellow glazed confection that is on the shelves at Easter time. If you eat peeps remember to drink lots of water. (That’s the antidote.)

Well I had fun, trying to figure out the origins of the Easter rabbit. I am positive some anthropologist in a dusty office, inside a University can set me straight as far as how the rabbit was rudely inserted into Easter celebrations. I hope they are reading this. I need to be edified. In the meantime, I am going to “Olsen’s” grain and play with the baby chicks. (They are cute until they grow up & then I eat them.)   😉

4 thoughts on “What does a Rabbit have to do with Easter?

  1. Guys… I am not taking Easter away, I was just fascinated by the origins of the Rabbits. Even when I was a little kid, I wondered about how rabbits got in the mix. Now I know.

Leave a Reply

