Seth McFarlane

Standard

Seth McFarland Last night the Oscars was actually entertaining, thanks to Seth McFarlande. He can sing, he can dance and he’s funny. This guy has a gorgeous singing voice. Would you believe he has recorded a CD? Whew! What hasn’t he done? I’ll betcha he’s been to the moon and started his own colony too! If you don’t believe me “GOOGLE” him. To my dismay, he hasn’t called me up and said: “Hey LeeLee let’s do lunch”. ( And he NEVER will ) !

When I was working in Hollywood, entertaining the masses, or was it asses? I often heard : “I’ll call you” or “Let’s do Lunch” or “I’m gonna tell my agent about you.” All of it was BULL. There was schmoozing galore. Everyone tells you to your face how talented you are, and when you leave the room, they’re talking SMACK about you behind your back. I just never had the stomach for the game-players. I escaped Hollywood before it got me trapped in its evil clutches. If you don’t have guts, and nerves of steel, than Hollywood is the seventh rung of hell. ( Too harsh?)

I am glad when clever people make it in Hollywood. Seth deserves the attention, and I hope it doesn’t warp him. In the past I have met perfectly normal people enter into the Hollowed Halls of Fame, only to be chewed up and spit out. It is never clear who your friends are, and there are people who will stalk you even when you’re NOT famous. Yes, I had my own stalker. (I have that in common with a lot of female actors.) I don’t mean to be so flippant, but there were things that I saw and heard that were very disturbing.

One friend of mine who was a composer and musician, was promised an opportunity to write the theme song for an upcoming motion picture… The catch was, he had to spend the weekend with the producer who was gay. He wasn’t gay himself, so it never happened. His career as a composer was kaput. There are frequent kaputs in Hollywood. It helps to know someone so you can get your foot in the door. Like your daddy is famous, you got tons of cash, or you’ll be willing to give a little sumpin’ sumpin for “you-know-what-ing”… Well I was brought up “proper like” so I am not willing to sell my soul to the devil.

Now please don’t get upset, if you made it in Hollywood doing things the proper way… What I mean by that is by “clawing your way to the top”. Most people were in the right place at the right time, and God gave them oodles of talent, as well as an extraordinary face and body. I don’t happen to be genetically perfect, and I went to audition after audition until the money ran out and I had to get a real job. I’m thankful that I was able to get some work on television and in music videos. It was fun while it lasted.

I am just happy that a talent like Mr. McFarlane isn’t being waisted. We need to see gifted people perform. We crave it. If I see one more moronic reality show where inbreeding is a prerequisite, I think I’m going to puke. Is the American public really completely devoid of grey matter? I really hope not. I think sadly, we watch reality TV because of our morbid curiosity. We are waiting for something horrible to happen. If this trend continues, more actors are going to be out of a job, and half the planet will get their 15 minutes of fame. Being famous because of REALITY TV, is now considered a punch-line. (There is no end to the “Kardashian” humor.)

My review for the Oscar show was an A+ .  It had many qualities that the past Oscars have lacked; namely humor and “Blazing Red Hot Talent”. When Seth McFarlande opened his mouth to sing, I nearly fell over in shock. I have sung professionally myself, and really did not expect to be wowed, and I was… I knew that Family Guy was funny, but it was a treat to experience the genius behind it. The humor was edgy and not obnoxious. The show held my attention, and the audience was appreciative. The “Flying Nun” skit was bizarre as hell, and hilarious. What more can one ask for in a show?

Leave a Reply

