My new “Look”

Standard

Me, Tatoos The new LOOK to have today is body art. Even grandma’s are getting tattoos.  I doubt if I would get any ink. The ones’ displayed in this photo are nylon “sleeves” that can be purchased anywhere. (I got these in a catalog.) The fake ones are fine for me, since they don’t have to be LASERED off if I change my mind. Oh….I change my mind a lot.

Another reason I really don’t think tats are for me is, I worked as a nurse and have seen what happens to them when you get older. The ink can bleed through the tissue, and you have to get them “renewed”, or “revamped”. What if you don’t have the funds? Or worse, what if you’re just not cool enough for the tattoos in the first place? By the way, they really look good on ADAM LEVINE, the guy on “The Voice”. He took his shirt off on Saturday Night Live, and shhhhish….HE HAS A ROCKIN’ HARD BOD. ( The tats look good on you bro! )

I think that in this day and age, it’s fun to have a new look. Some tatoo artists are very gifted. It cracks me up when really “straight” people show me their tattoos. I remember a guy I dated who was a teacher. He told me he liked his job, but had to wear long-sleeved shirts to work. I asked innocently: “Why do you have to wear long sleeves to work?”

He smiled and added: “I’ll show you.” Then he rolled up his sleeves and BOTH arms were covered with the most gorgeous tattoos I’d even seen. I think he had been in the Army and stationed in Japan. He had the traditional Yakuza-style , brightly colored ones complete with multiple dragons. If you know tattoos, a dragon on the forearms, usually means a martial arts master. I’m not sure what this guy’s complete history was, but he was probably a real bad-ass. Some tattoos are merely decorative, others are “A Rite of Passage”. The best tattoos however, denote rank and warn others of your training in the martial arts.

I only got to yellow belt, so I don’t think the dragon tattoos would be good for me. I’d like to think I’m tough as nails, but I’m not. In fact, I’m like a turtle, hard on the outside and squishy on the inside. I don’t feel I have anything to prove by looking gutsy and unbreakable. I’ll leave the machismo for the guys. Of course if you’re gal who wants a tatoo, by all means get one. Just remember, you better find a good artist, because if you get bored with it, it AIN’T gonna wash off.

Leave a Reply

